The 10 Greatest Movies Ever Made(That I’ve Seen)

Wasting time making the Top 10 song list yesterday kind of got me tired.  I figured I’d give it a go with movies.

Rules #1 Nothing with Tom Cruise allowed.

Alright, I looked through my DvDs, searched my Netflix history, looked at multiple “Best Movies of all-time lists” to make sure I wasn’t forgetting anything, and wrote a list of my favorite 20 movies.  It took a bit to narrow it down to 10, but here goes.

In No Particular Order

1997 – Life is Beautiful

Directed by Roberto Benigni

Starring: Roberto Benigni, Nicoletta Braschi

My sister introduced me to this movie years ago.  It took me forever before I finally watched it.  I’m glad I did.  It’s an Italian Film, so you’re going to have to do some reading as you watch it.  I really don’t want to say anything about this movie for those that haven’t seen it.  It’s amazing.  Add it to your Netflix queue or rent it somewhere else, whatever, just watch it. Now.

1967 – Cool Hand Luke

Directed by Stuart Rosenberg

Starring: Paul Newman

A war hero is sent to a road camp prison for cutting the heads off of parking meters.  If you’re feeling down and out, and have lost your “heart”, watching Cool Hand Luke will give it back to you.

…you make a bad enough mistake, and then you gotta deal with The Man. And he is one rough old boy.

1999 – Fight Club

Directed by David Fincher

Starring: Brat Pitt, Edward Norton, Helena Bonham Carter

Ladies, excuse the sexism for a moment.  If you’re a man and reading this, and you don’t like Fight Club, you can go ahead and check your penis at the door and trade it in for a nice pink vagina.  Just watching this movie makes me feel like a badass.  It makes me want to randomly tell people that I want them to hit me as hard as they can.  It makes me want to give up anything I own, find a shitty abandoned house, and just fight.

In the world I see – you are stalking elk through the damp canyon forests around the ruins of Rockefeller Center. You’ll wear leather clothes that will last you the rest of your life. You’ll climb the wrist-thick kudzu vines that wrap the Sears Tower. And when you look down, you’ll see tiny figures pounding corn, laying strips of venison on the empty car pool lane of some abandoned superhighway.


1992 – Unforgiven

Directed by Clint Eastwood

Starring: Clint Eastwood, Gene Hackman, Morgan Freeman

I love westerns, but so many of them are just horrible.  This western, is not.  William Munny(Clint Eastwood) is a retired thief and murderer.  He comes out of retirement to kill and collect the bounty on two cowboys that slash up a prostitute.  Accompanied by Ned Logan(Morgan Freeman) and some irritating kid, they set out to find the cowboys.  Clint Eastwood once again plays an ultimate badass.

That’s right. I’ve killed women and children. I’ve killed just about everything that walks or crawled at one time or another. And I’m here to kill you…

2002 – Road to Perdition

Directed by Sam Mendes

Starring: Tom Hanks, Paul Newman, Jude Law

Tom Hanks plays the role of an enforcer for mobster Paul Newman.   Tom Hanks’ son hides in his fathers card during one of his jobs, he witnesses a murder.  I won’t stay anymore, just in case you haven’t seen it yet.

A man of honor always pays his debts… and keeps his word.

1998 – Saving Private Ryan

Directed by Steven Speilberg

Starring: Tom Hanks, Matt Damon, Tom Sizemore

Rarely will a movie thrust you into a movie the way Saving Private Ryan does.  After a brief intro, this movie does.  You feel like you’re there, landing on Omaha beach.  For the next 30 minutes, give or take, you experience some of the most intense scenes ever filmed.  From then on, it’s milder for the most part, and you travel with a group pf soldiers as they attempt to find Private Ryan to bring him back to The United Stares.  Private Ryan’s three brothers were killed, and he is to be located, and sent back home. I want to watch it again, right now.

He better be worth it. He better go home and cure a disease, or invent a longer-lasting light bulb.

1972 – The Godfather

Directed by Francis Ford Coppola

Starring: Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Robert Duvall, James Caan

Honestly, do I have to say anything about this movie?  It’s a damn classic.  If you haven’t seen it yet, you need to recognize.

I have a sentimental weakness for my children and I spoil them, as you can see. They talk when they should listen.

2007 – No Country for Old Men

Directed by Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

Starring: Tommy Lee Jones, Josh Brolin, Javier Bardem

Violence and mayhem ensue after a hunter stumbles upon some dead bodies, a stash of heroin and more than $2 million in cash near the Rio Grande.  I was lazy and just copy/pasted that.

What’s the most you ever lost on a coin toss.

1994 – The Shawshank Redemption

Directed by Frank Darabont

Starring: Morgan Freeman, Tim Robbins

Two imprisoned men bond over a number of years, finding solace and eventual redemption through acts of common decency.  Sorry, it’s 4:30 am, I’m finally starting to get tired.

I believe in two things: discipline and the Bible. Here you’ll receive both. Put your trust in the Lord; your ass belongs to me. Welcome to Shawshank.

1994 – Forrest Gump

Directed by Robert Zemeckis

Starring: Tom Hanks, Gary Sinise

This movie should be on everyone’s list, if nothing more then that it’s one big quotefest.  This movie is a classic, it’s brilliant.

Some nights, Jenny’d sneak out and come over  to my house, just ’cause she said she was scared. Scared  of what, I don’t know…but I think it was her grandma’s dog.

 

 

 

 

Honorable Mentions:

American History X

Full Metal Jacket

Reservoir Dogs

Mulholland Drive

The Royal Tenebaums

Apocalypse Now

Alright nerds, thanks for giving me a few minutes of your life that you will NEVER get back.  I love you.

  1. #1 by Kevin on December 1, 2010 - 10:37 am

    With the exception of the italian film, I’ve heard of all of them. However I’ve only seen about 5 of those (including honorable mention) I will have to start watching some more movies, I guess I’ll start with the Godfather. I’ve been told dozens of times to watch it and have never sat down to do so.I’ll let you know what I think.

Leave a Reply

